I can’t tell you what it really is. I can only tell you what it feels like. -Eminem

 

I know more Lakota than I do my own language. Duwale. I know I’m not spelling that right.

Oki, saniitapi?

How many i’s are in saniitapi anyway? Have I got them in the right order? Have I got myself in the right order?

I am tired of my scrabble board self. Colonization bingo.

Nisto matsokapi. Poohsapoot.

I refuse to put my own language in italics. Fuck you if you can’t read it. This isn’t about you.

See, I can give you directives in my grandfather’s forbidden tongue but I can’t tell you much about how I feel. I can’t shrug you off. I can’t express gratitude in any way that you might understand.

For that, I have to go to an old enemy, to bands of misnomers.

I have to sit inside of their suffocation, holding bundles of sage to my face, to see my own reflection shimmering to life, bounced off hot rock.

Mitakuye oyasin?

No.

Minipoka.

 

 

Leave a comment